Skip to content


AHA staff at Farmer of the Year Awards

07 Sep 2011

CEO, Dr Mike Bond, and AHA Biosecurity Communication Coordinator, Martin Blaszczyk, were in Sydney on September 7  for the Australian Farmer of the  Year Awards. They joined many representatives of our member organisations to celebrate the achievements of Australian farmers. Mike Bond presented the Biosecurity Farmer of the Year Award (animal category), which was sponsored by AHA’s Farm Biosecurity program and recognised farmers leading the way in biosecurity practice. Representatives of  our sister organisation, and partner in the Farm Biosecurity program, also attended to present the Biosecurity Farmer of the Year Award (plant category).

Lindsay Bourke (of Launceston, Tasmania), Pepe Bonaccordo (South Windsor, NSW), and Tom Hill (Colbinabbin, Victoria) were finlists for the the prestigious national award in the animal category.

Bill Casey (of Ulverstone, Tasmania), Sandra and Peter Young (Woombye, Queensland), and Lynn and Ian Rathjen (Colbinabbin, Victoria) were recognised as oustanding entrants in the plant category.



Last reviewed: November 23, 2015

Leave a Reply

Back to all news